Tags

,

A road on the interior portion of Mackinac Island, Michigan

A road on the interior portion of Mackinac Island, Michigan

‘Travelling down the road, I look back’ – opening line of a poem I wrote several years ago

I just thought I’d share the 2012 Annual Report with some comments by me.

The new Boeing 787 Dreamliner can carry about 250 passengers. This blog was viewed about 1,700 times in 2012. If it were a Dreamliner, it would take about 7 trips to carry that many people.

I’m impressed, especially after taking such a long hiatus (darn writer’s block).

In 2012, there were 32 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 93 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 534 MB. That’s about 2 pictures per week.

I’d be more impressed with the post total if they had been consistently posted.  For a while I was posting like a mad woman, and then I posted a little less often, and then I started running out of ideas and then…nothing for months. 😦

My writing resolution this year is to post at least twice a month.  If I find inspiration to do more, that’s fine, but I want to focus on having a blog that is updated regularly with quality content.  Even if it’s just a photo, I want you to know why that photo was so special.  What image did it capture, and why is it important in our family history?

The busiest day of the year was June 11th with 76 views. The most popular post that day was In Search of…Baby Taylor.

That particular post was a favorite of mine, and I’m glad it was well received.  Thank you for all those who took time to read it.

These are the posts that got the most views in 2012. You can see all of the year’s most-viewed posts in your Site Stats.

I really liked the combination in this top five.  The first deals with family trees in general, and my reflection upon them.  The second deals with my father’s side of the family.  The third is about my own branch of the family tree, my husband and I.  The fourth talks about my mother’s side of the family.  The final item in the top five gives me a chance to highlight Bill’s side of the family tree.  It was a very well-rounded collection, and gives a good summary of what this blog is all about.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for tree branchesoak tree branches,tree with brancheshappy anniversary poems, and mike sabados jr.

Wow…other than the family member name, these are not the search terms I would have expected.

Thank you very much for all the referrals, especially to Sheryl!  I’ve been a big fan ever since I discovered her blog, and I hope she gets lots of referrals through me as well. 🙂

Most visitors came from The United States. The United Kingdom & Canada were not far behind.

There were visitors from over 60 countries in the world.  I’m glad you stopped by!

