Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I know a lot of us are excited about the 1940 US Census being available for the first time today.  I’m wondering what your plans are, and who you plan on looking for first?

Unfortunately, I’ll need to wait another ten years before I’ll be able to see my parents on the census.  However, I still look forward to seeing my aunts and uncles on my Dad’s side of the family.  And, on Mom’s side, I look forward to seeing her older sister make her only census appearance.  I mentioned her in February; the little girl who died tragically.

Only “Poppa”, my Aunt Jeanette’s father, was my only living great-grandparent on my Dad’s side, but my great-grandparents on Mom’s side (with one exception) should all be alive.  And, I was interested to find out more about their children and where they were in 1940.

I asked Bill who he would like to find out about first on his side of the family, and he said if possible, he’d like to find out more about his great-grandparents.  We knew his great-grandmother Sabados would still be alive.  We also knew his great-grandfather Schreckengost would be alive.  However, we had no idea about when his mother’s maternal grandparents had died, and we had so far come up empty on the 1930 census, so they might be long dead, or we just hadn’t found the right connection to them yet.

One of the things I’m also excited to do tomorrow is that I have volunteered to help index the census records.  I’m looking forward to it.  It’s a way of giving back to the genealogical community, a community that has been so great in answering questions and giving advice to help further my adventure.  I’m setting a goal to transcribe 1,000 names for the month of April.  That’s about one full census sheet a day.  I know it’s probably just a drop in the bucket, but together with all the others that will be volunteering, it will help in getting the information out there to all.

So, I wish you all the best in your searches.  Good hunting!

Happy Census Day!

🙂 Pam

