Tags

, ,

Every journey begins in much the same way.  You have a desire to go somewhere. You plan your trip.  You begin the journey.

My journey into the realm of genealogy began with a desire to learn more about my family history.  I didn’t know much more than a few stories told to me by my parents, aunts, uncles, and grandparents.  I wanted to know more about the people making up the branches of my family tree.

The initial plan for my journey was spawned by a request from my father.  He wanted to see if I could help him track down his brother’s children from a previous marriage.  I also had a few destinations of my own in mind.  I wanted to track down more information about my Dad’s family in Missouri.  I knew they had made a journey of their own from the East, but where and when did their journey begin?

So with these goals in mind, my path was set, and so I began.

As with some journeys, the road is not always easy.  To get from point A to point B, you may have to take a detour or two and face some setbacks.  What starts out as a simple trip can become a complex series of twists and turns, and what you thought might be easy becomes a more difficult challenge.  However, when you find that elusive piece of information that ties everything together, the thrill is as exciting as anything out of an Indiana Jones movie.

I hope to share with you some of the destinations I’ve discovered in my journey; the people I’ve encountered in my research, and some of the tools I’ve used in getting from point A to point B.  I also hope to share a few missteps I’ve made, and hope my mistakes can help others in avoiding them in their own adventures in ancestry.

