Tags

, , ,

I ran across this picture the other day:

Caption:  1900's Donna and Jeanette McCombs early 20th century Because my Aunt Jeanette was born in October of 1900, I'm guessing this was likely taken in 1902.  Donna was born in 1896, so that would have made her about five or six depending on the month in which the portrait was taken.

Caption: 1900′s Donna and Jeanette McCombs early 20th century
Because my Aunt Jeanette was born in October of 1900, I’m guessing this was likely taken in late 1901 or early 1902. Donna was born in 1896, so that would have made her about five at the time.

I had shared a photograph of my grandmother and her sisters in an earlier post.  It’s interesting to look at the two pictures and see the changes in the faces over the years.

Donna, the oldest is at the back of the group.  Jeanette is in the center.  My Grandmother, Mattie Beatrice is on the right, and the youngest, Jessie Rae, is on the left.

Donna, the oldest is at the back of the group. Jeanette is in the center. My Grandmother, Mattie Beatrice is on the right, and the youngest, Jessie Rae, is on the left.

Since Aunt Rae was born in 1905, I’m thinking this one might have been taken around 1908.  That would make Donna about 12, Jeanette about 8, my Grandma about 5, and Aunt Rae about 3.

I know that by 1910, the mother of these girls, Georgia Almeda, had died.  I wonder how “Poppa” fared with raising his “Little Women”.

